Where’s my mind gone?!

My baby is now one year old!

That is significant to me, other than for all the obvious reasons, because that was the deadline that I had given myself for my mental capacity to return to normal. And it hasn’t!

I struggle with remembering things. I have to grasp around for the right words which sometimes ends up with me asking the person I’m talking to what the word I’m looking for is by describing what it means. I even have to ask for a reminder of what some words mean sometimes. I have lists everywhere, but of course I forget to look at them!

A few weeks ago, I met a friend I hadn’t seen in a while for a coffee and when she arrived I realised I’d forgotten she was pregnant – eight months pregnant with a huge bump. And she’s not the first friend that I forgot was pregnant recently.

This week I’m finding it amusing, but at different stages of the last year I have gotten worried by it. Now that we’ve passed the first year is over, I hope that my memory and my mind will improve again!

Leave a Reply

