Rainbow Cake

It was the baby’s first birthday a few weeks ago, and I had seen rainbow cakes last year and I really wanted to make one. I had planned to make it for my other half’s birthday but when I looked up recipes I realised I needed to use gel colours or it could look wishy washy. So I ordered the gels and planned it for the 1st birthday instead.

A friend, who had a cake business, told me the key to good colours was to use a yolk free batter, so I found a recipe for an angel food cake. The recipe I used had 12 egg whites, and you beat them to nice and puffy – but of course once you split it between six bowls (it loses a bit of air, and “puff”) and then mix in the food colour gels, it had lost all its air and all its puff. Which I think then affected the texture and taste.

DSC_0111

DSC_0113

I had a bit of an issue with my orange layer. I decided to work through the rainbow starting at red, then orange. I put in equal amounts of red and yellow food gel to make the orange, not realising that the red dye was extremely strong. I ended up having to put about half the jar of yellow food gel into it, and still in the bowl it looked red. It didn’t look at bad once it actually baked.

DSC_0117

Once they were cooled, I wrapped them in clingfilm and put them in the fridge overnight.

IMG_4410

Next morning I made a lovely white chocolate buttercream icing (that I found the recipe of here: http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/16140/white-chocolate-buttercream-icing.aspx) and added a layer in between and on top. The fun began when I tried to do the sides. I just didn’t have the patience, it kept falling off.

IMG_4415

Luckily, the other half stepped in, with a hot knife, and his nice calm patience!

IMG_4416

And so it was all ready for the big reveal! I was more excited than the kids! 🙂

DSC_0120

I was very impressed. Now, I must admit that the sponge was not lovely and light, or moist and tasty – it was dense and rubbery to be honest. I think that if I was to make it again, I would just use a normal cake batter, egg yolk and all. What do you think, taste or looks – which is more important in the case of a rainbow cake?

Leave a Reply

