Where to start?

Hi all,

There’s so much going on that I don’t know where to even start! I just know I really want to get this blog up and running, but I am being pulled in all directions and therefore not managing to get anything done properly.

I have decided that a priority is my house – I need to get it organised. I feel the clutter is negatively affecting me and my mental health. I am a hoarder, and I live in a very “compact” house. It is a lovely house, but there is very little space in it, and as we have not have much money over the past seven years we haven’t been able to buy or build much clever storage. Bit by bit we are getting there. But of course I am accumulating more and more too! So I have decided I need to start being brutal and clearing some of it. And giving everything I am keeping a “home” – where if it goes back to after you use it.

Last week I got a suprise, because these guys called to the door to assess our house for insulation and vents (I was very sceptical) but it turns out that at some stage this week our landlord is having our attic insulated. And they told me I need to empty my attic so they can do it. Oh my God. That is a job and a half. My husband and one of my step-sons spent hours taking down all the boxes, and I told them where to put it (separate piles for different categories) so now I have decided I am going to clear through an awful lot of the stuff before it goes back up. It is mainly kids clothes. From Princess P for Baba Z, from the Boy in case I have another baby boy… and from Baba Z in case of another baby too (even though supposedly I am finished having babies!)!

So I have an awful lot of work to do, and no idea where to even start to be honest. And I’m having a bad time with my body at the moment, my back, shoulders and hips are in bits – so I’ve started seeing an osteopath… who says I shouldn’t lift, bend or twist! Talk about difficult with a 1 1/2 year old and trying to sort stuff! But I’ll do my best.

I have taken a few photos of the boxes from the attic in the bedrooms… and I’ll post them soon. I’ve shown a few friends and they have all said its like an episode from one of those hoarders shows!

Leave a Reply

