Lentil Curry

As part of our recent discussions into healthy eating and after watching the Forks Over Knives documentary a few weeks ago, we decided we would try to add some vegetarian meals into our diets.

About two weeks ago I decided to try a lentil curry because I had lentils, so I stuck it into Google and found a recipe I liked the look off. It was this one here from  Simple Vegan Blog

A really easy recipe to put together. I had all the ingredients. Simple. Well, it didn’t turn out well. And I found out why.

So on the evening I was making it, I was busy and rushing and grabbed down my jar of lentils…

20170216_174803
See them there – top left!

And popped them in water to cook. Now I didn’t have enough water in the pot and they boiled almost dry – so for a week I blamed the failure of the recipe on that. Because in my curry the lentils were hard and chalky, and not tasty at all.

It was only the other day I was digging around at the back of another shelf of jars – when I found the real reason my lentil curry didn’t work out. Can you see now why?

20170216_174841

Yep – my lentils weren’t lentils. They were split yellow peas. And because I was only paying half attention, I thought yes that’s them and threw them in. I found it very amusing when I realised, and had a good laugh at myself!

So now that I’d worked out the reason, I decided I wanted to try the lentil curry again. But this time I knew my kids wouldn’t humour me and eat it – because they’d already tried it and didn’t like it – so I decided to go a slight different route. Instead tonight I made a “Vegetable Curry” – I added extra onion and finely chopped celery and a yellow pepper to the curry mix and that camouflaged the lentils a bit. And they ate it. While they didn’t wolf it down and ask for more, they did clear their plates without complaint. So that’s a win in my books.

I’ve got to say that the mix of spices in this curry recipe are lovely, really very tasty, and very easy to have all the ingredients on hand. I have frozen portions of coconut milk in my freezer so I just throw a portion into the pot and it defrosts while its cooking. Definitely worth trying it out.

 

Leave a Reply

